Skip to content

– Brazil Journal – Week 2, 25 de Junho – Joseph Thieman

July 22, 2012

Brazil Journal – Week 2, 25 de Junho

It’s the beginning of my second week here in Brasilia, and I get to begin my Portuguese class today. It will be meeting Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday, and I am greatly looking forward to it. This past week was fairly uneventful. I have started developing a good routine. I wake up here around 9am, or whenever the truck loaded with speakers drives through the apartment complex blasting someones voice screaming about the strike here at the University of Brasilia. I have a small breakfast then go practice for a few hours in a field near my apartment. I am not able to practice at the university because there are very few rooms, and I am not technically a student here. After my practice set, I go running for a while then eat lunch.  In the evenings I either watch a movie in English with Portuguese subtitles or I play music with Jon Gardner.

I think it was Thursday the 21st when Matt McAllister, from CCM, arrived. I had never met him before, but we are getting along really well. The only downside to gaining another roommate is now we have three people sleeping in a room that is only meant to hold 1 or 2. I sleep on a mattress on the floor that the super brought up for us. So this week we gained Matt, and lost 2 roommates. A student from Columbia went home a few days ago, and a women working on her doctorate went back to Cuba yesterday. So for now we only have one other person living here. So there are the three of us in one room, a girl from Sao Paulo in another room, and two empty rooms.

As for the language, I have been studying everyday, but I feel very little progress. I will just continue with this plan, and hopefully by the time I leave I will be able to speak a little bit.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

