Skip to content

– Brasil Refleções – Chris Grzech

July 22, 2012

July 11, 2012

Brasil Refleções

I have really enjoyed being in Brasília so far.  The people are friendly, the food is excellent, and the climate is optimal, albeit dry.  The sky is absolutely huge as well as beautiful, for lack of a better description.  The architecture is astounding.

Two weeks after arrival, I got to accompany a group of students at the auditorium of the department of music at UNB.  We played Beatles songs, sung in Portuguese.  I saw Hermeto Pascoal at the Teatro Nacional a week ago.  I also saw an opera production of Elixir do Amor, put on by UNB students a week and a half ago.

I have been extremely glad that I studied Portuguese before I came here. I am meeting lots of people all the time and my Portuguese is improving a lot.  Translating for the other Americans has been nice, I feel valued.  I bought some classic books which I have been reading every day.  They include:  O Retrato de Dorian Gray (the Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, translated to Portuguese, also my favorite book in English), Mensagem (poems by Fernando Pessoa), and Dom Quixote by Miguel Cervantes.  I have been writing down lots of vocabulary lists and checking them with our roommates to filter out archaic language.  We have one roommate from São Paulo and one roommate from Portugal right now.  I’ve learned such valuable words as “Cambalhato” (summersault) and “Zanzar” (to wander about aimlessly) and phrases such as “erqeu as sobrancelhas” (raised the eyebrows), to name a few.  The Portuguese for Foreigners class is going well.  The total experience is a practical Portuguese class.  I’m excited to go to UNICAMP and see more of Brasil. I’ve heard only good things so far.

Sincerely,

Chris

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

