Skip to content

– July 22, 2012 – Shane Porter

July 22, 2012

July 22, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Brazil so far.  I really didn’t know anybody when I got here, but immediately I was greeted with open arms.  Walking outside of the airport, I met up Renato, who I knew but had never formally met, and who right away took me out to eat and gave me some money.  He has been very helpful in getting all of us settled in and feeling at home, including helping us get new cell phones, taking us to the federal police and inviting us to lunch at his home.  The same can be said for many Brazilians that I have met.  We have been invited to a number of things by people who barely know us but behave as if we have been friends for a while.  People here are very patient with foreigners and take the time to help you with the language.  Speaking of the language, the Portuguese class has gone very well and I feel as if I am getting better at speaking every day.

I am surprised to see how many people want to see and hear live music.  We have had a few paying gigs already, and they occurred by pure happenstance; us just jamming outside or inside and people approaching us, asking us to play at their restaurante or in their home studio of just hanging out and listening to music.

I have had a great time in Brasilia.  The people, food and weather are all great, and I am very much looking forward to going to Campinas to start the semester.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

